The Friends of Eastgate House have funded the conservation of four glass panes, or ‘quarries’ which were previously located in the stair turret of Eastgat House.. The fragments contain fascinating inscriptions and dates from the time the house was a boarding school. On one of the panes reads ‘George Hobart, glazier, 1815’.
We are very grateful to Pauline Weeds, one of the Friends Committee members, for her research into the Hobart family. Pauline has checked the parish records and found that a George Hobart (born 1777) was living in Rochester at that time and his name appears on his children’s birth records as a painter. At this time, it was quite common to find men who were painters and glaziers, so we are fairly certain that this is the George Hobart who worked at Eastgate House.
It is understood that George was married to Lydia in 1803 and that they had several children including Lydia, George James, Sarah, Hannah and Elizabeth. The burial register for St Margaret’s Church Rochester shows that George was buried there in 1824 aged 47.
It is also known, from research, that George’s son, George James Hobart, married Mary Ann Chantler in 1826 and that he died and was buried at St Margaret’s in 1856. At this time it appears that the family were licensees of the Don Cossack Inn, Delce Lane, and were also painters and glaziers.
Can you help us find out more about George Hobart or the Hobart family? If so, please email firstname.lastname@example.org
Read about our past events and stay up to date with all of our news and announcements.